Top 10

  1. Laguardia by Nnedi Okorafor
  2. Blessing in Disguise by Nnedi Okorafor
  3. Ireti Bidemi by Michel Balogun and Adeleye Yussuf
  4. Guardian By Wale Awelengje and Jeffrey Oyem
  5. Jujuman By Chima and Kelly Kaly
  6. The Prophecy By Epoch Comics
  7. Avonome by Mr. Ighorodje Obenje Kazeem
  8. The Legend of Wale Williams by Roye Okupe’s Youneek Studio
  9. Galatic Core By Emmanuel Ozor
  10. Eru By Maz Ezeogu and Ozo Ezeogu
  1. Laguardia

Eisner and Hugo Award Winner!

Written by Nnedi Okorafor, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author and Marvel’s Shuri writer, this deluxe trade paperback collects issues #1-#4 of the mini-series and includes artist sketches and an afterword from the author.

In an alternate world where aliens have integrated with society, pregnant Nigerian-American doctor Future Nwafor Chukwuebuka has just smuggled an illegal alien plant named Letme Live through LaGuardia International and Interstellar Airport… and that’s not the only thing she’s hiding.

She and Letme become part of a community of human and alien immigrants, but as their crusade for equality continues and the birth of her child nears Future—and her entire world—begins to change.

2. Blessing in Disguise

Marvel, the U.S. comic book publisher, has launched its first superhero comic set in Lagos, Nigeria’s commercial and entertainment capital. The comic was inspired by the kidnapping of the Chibok schoolgirls in 2014.

The comic titled ‘Blessing in Disguise’ features Ngozi, a superheroine fighting evil in Lagos. This is the first story to be set in an African country by Marvel. Ngozi is a character based on one of the Chibok girls and is expected to serve as a role model for girls, said the science fiction writer.

Award-winning Nigerian-American writer Nnedi Okorafor creates blessing in Disguise. The published story is part of Marvel’s Venomverse comic, with Ngozi appearing alongside Black Panther and Spider-Man villain Venom.

“They were normal girls who suddenly had to deal with a huge change in their lives … and their story of perseverance is so powerful. Like many Nigerian girls, Ngozi comes in a small package but is strong-willed and determined.” – review from a reader.

3. IRETI BIDEMI #3

Why have one life when you’re the daughter of a god? Watch and live in the shoes of our favorite Mythological tomboy/college student/Parkour enthusiast in the Adventures of the reincarnation of Ireti Moremi.

Ireti: Bidemi #3 created by Michael Balogun and Adeleye Yussuf) is a graphic novel that tells the story of Bidemi Ogunde, an archeology student by day, and Ibadan’s crime-fighting superhero by night. She seems to possess similar powers to the legendary Ireti Moremi, a warrior of the Ife Kingdom in Yorubaland.

Unapologetically badass, Ireti Bidemi is the Ibadan superhero we’ve all been waiting for. Published by Jide Martin’s Comic Republic, Ireti Bidemi tells a story about the eponymous life of a female University of Ibadan student who possesses superpowers and might be the reincarnation of the great Ireti Moremi of Ife Kingdom.

Guardian Prime: Genesis #3

Written by Wale Awelenje and Jeffrey Oyem) Guardian Prime is the publisher’s answer to Superman, being both the first and greatest heroes in the comic universe. The hero, Tunde Jaiye, is described as the embodiment of the fifth element (water, fire, earth, air, and the perfect man “as God intended him to be”) born to the human race every 2000.

Another thing Guardian Prime has in common with Superman, at least the New 52 version, is the fact that he has one comic primarily centered in the present day (Might) and another dealing with his past origins as a superhero (Genesis, through parallel storytelling between the present day and two years ago).

This is something I would recommend for fans of Superman or Wonder Woman.

Juju man

This graphic novel is written by Chima & Kelly Kaly, Lagos Comic-Con winners in Best Writer & Illustrator category.

An ominous occurrence visits a native Igbo girl, Oriemma leading to a tragic revelation: a relic of high spiritual importance has been stolen. It’s on the list because it integrates African tradition into the modern world. Find out more in this sizzling preview chapter.

The Prophecy – The Foreseen Adversary

It is written by Epoch Comics, Lagos comic con award-winning graphic novel in the Comic Book of the Year category.

This battle has flared since the dawn of time, but now in this period of seeming peace, it’s about to be waged again. Two forces will conflict, two allegiances will battle from the womb of humanity. A son will be born, yet another will be given, and one will seek out the other to tip this balance eternally. In this final frontier, in whose favour shall it tip?

AVONOME: The realm within #8

Meet Nigeria’s sleeping beauty. With more voices in her head than we can count and flashback inputs almost as long as her name. Expect actual plot development as she finally awakens from her 7-issue slumber. Maybe we can stop seeing her in smoke-screens now?

The Vanguards

Created and published by the Comic Republic, a Nigerian comic book publishing founded in 2013 by Jide Martins, The Vanguards is the African version of The Avengers. It features a team of superheroes working out of Africa, doing good and keeping us all safe.

E.X.O. – The Legend of Wale Williams Part One

Set in the future, The Legend of Wale Williams is published by Roye Okupe’s YouNeek Studios. It could easily be called the Nigerian hybrid of the ultra-rich Marvel superhero, Iron Man, and D.C. superhero Batman.

This graphic novel, set in Lagoon City, Nigeria, “follows the journey of Wale Williams, an impetuous young man who inherits a suit with superpowers after his father goes missing.”

Galactic Core #1

Written by Emmanuel Ozor. This sci-fi/space opera takes place in the aftermath of a Great Galactic War where thousands of human and alien civilizations were left in a state of chaos. This debut issue depicts such chaos as a Natalie alien princess lands on the planet I’ve 4 while on the run from Commander Tariks and his Watu-Mutilon Raptors. Tariks attacks the planet to catch his prey, only foiled by a superteam known as the Galactic Corps. While this issue was mostly action-packed, it does an excellent job of introducing readers to the Galactic Corps team and their powers, the planet Q’bi 4, and the city of Ch’yuli. While the characters are not necessarily Nigerian, I would recommend this to anyone who likes space opera, science fiction, or afro-futurist works.

Eru #6

Written by Max Ezeogu and Ozo Ezeogu

This horrific graphic novel tells the tale of Eric Kukoyi, the vessel of the entity of fear, a centuries-old entity with a thousand names and forms, now known as Eru. This issue drew parallels between Eric and Count Dracula himself. Ezeogu’s art and coloring contribute to the horror atmosphere. While reading this, I got the impression that people who like Neil Gaiman’s Sandman, urban fantasy, or horror comics would like this too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *